Pediatric Dermatology Fellowship Program


The Division of Dermatology at Washington University is pleased to offer a pediatric dermatology fellowship. The pediatric dermatology fellowship at Washington University and St. Louis Children's Hospital is a 1-year program, which has been approved by the American Board of Dermatology. We accept one fellow per year. There is flexibility if the fellow desires to extend the fellowship to 2 years.


Mission: Our mission is to train and mentor fellows such that they become outstanding pediatric dermatologists. We strive to provide fellows with the foundation to be leaders in this exciting field. We seek enthusiastic trainees who will become active members of the Society of Pediatric Dermatology, as well as continue to pursue research, teaching, academics, and/or other scholarly activities.


Eligibility: The fellowship is intended for individuals who wish to achieve board-certification in pediatric dermatology. Accordingly, fellows should be board-eligible/board-certified in dermatology prior to starting this fellowship.


About the Fellowship: Fellows will be provided broad training in all aspects of pediatric dermatology, such as outpatient care, inpatient consults, procedural/laser dermatology, and research. St. Louis Children's Hospital is a nationally recognized, high-volume, tertiary care center with abundant opportunities for pediatric dermatology experiences. The fellow will be expected to participate in and occasionally lead didactics, review biopsy slides, attend and present at meetings, and contribute to the Division's research/scholarly activities. We are committed to individualizing and tailoring the fellowship to the trainee's interests (eg., procedural pediatric dermatology or basic science research), in an effort to foster areas of clinical or research expertise. Examples of our specialty clinics include the Vascular Birthmark Clinic and the Neurofibromatosis clinics.  The fellowship is overseen by Dr. Susan Bayliss, Director of Pediatric Dermatology and Dr. Carrie Coughlin.