Dermatology faculty honored for excellence in education

Residency program director, Dr. Ilana Rosman, was awarded an inaugural Rising Star Award by the Academy of Educators at Washington University School of Medicine. The Rising Star Award recognizes faculty members who show exceptional promise as educators through contributions in educational service, leadership, and/or scholarship. Dr. Rosman was recognized for excellence in teaching and advising medical students, residents, and fellows as well as for her local and national leadership in and commitment to increasing diversity, inclusion, and equity in dermatology through curricular changes, mentorship, and reforms to the resident selection process.

Four additional dermatology faculty were selected for the Academy of Educators’ Honor Roll Award for 2020-2021. The Honor Roll Award recognizes outstanding educators at Washington University School of Medicine, and in particular, acknowledges faculty contributions in one or more of several domains: advising and mentorship, direct teaching, instructional development and curricular design, educational administration and leadership, educational research or scholarship, and assessment and evaluation. The dermatology awardees are: Dr. Carrie Coughlin, Dr. Caroline Mann, Dr. Amy Musiek, and Dr. Shivani Tripathi.